After analyzing over 10 years of vehicle crash data, the American Academy of Pediatrics has concluded: “The most dangerous thing that U.S. children do as part of daily life is ride in a car. Motor vehicle crashes remain the leading cause of death for children 4 years and older.” 2022 Car Seat Laws helps parents understand child passenger safety laws and recommendations.
2022 Car Seat Laws
What are the child passenger safety laws and recommendations?
As of July 2019, 12 states have adopted this law: “Children are to ride in a rear-facing safety seat until the age of two or the child reaches the minimum weight limit for a forward-facing safety seat as prescribed by the manufacturer of the safety seat.” The states are: Virginia, California, Connecticut, Nebraska, Nevada, New Jersey, New York, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island and South Carolina. N
As of January 1, 2022 Nevada has also added the “rear facing til 2 years old” law for child passengers.
It’s important to remember that as of August 2018, the CDC now recommends that rear-facing child safety seats be used for infants and toddlers from ages 2 -4 years old. As the website says, For the best possible protection, infants and toddlers should be buckled in a rear-facing car seat, in the back seat, until they reach the maximum weight and/or height limits of their car seat. While not the law in every state, it is a national recommendation.
Which car seat is the safest?
According to SafeWise.com the best overall child carseat is the Graco 4Ever Delux because it is a 4 in 1 seat made to take children from infancy through age 10. The complete 2022 list is here however. Reading the manual and having the seat properly installed is just as important as safety ratings as well. Also remember that it’s okay for infants to fall asleep in a car seat but it’s not okay for them to sleep in their carseat for long periods of overnight.
While car seats themselves are safe, it has been reported in many accidents that seats have been installed too loosely or at an incorrect angle. To be sure your seat is installed correctly, visit SafeKids.org to find a Certified Child Passenger Safety Technician or inspection station in your area.
What about Uber or Lyft…can my baby ride?
According the Uber’s website, carseats are available in New York City only so if you’re in any other city, you must use your own seat. Lyft also allows riders to bring baby in a carseat anytime. Ride share services are bound by their states child passenger safety laws regardless of company policy.
2022 Car Seat Laws – What if I’m traveling between states with my baby?
Each state/jurisdiction has its own laws and it is the driver’s responsibility to know the laws in each state. Check your state and any state’s you plan to drive to below:
- Baby Care How-To's
- Baby Sleep
- COVID19 and Newborn Care
- Family Activities with Baby
- Franchise & Company Info
- Hiring Help
- Our Favorites
- Postpartum Health
- Safety & First Aide
- Twins & Multiples