Updated! Car Seat Laws and Recommendations by State :

By Let Mommy Sleep. October 4, 2018

After analyzing over 10 years of vehicle crash data, the AAP has concluded, "The most dangerous thing that U.S. children do as part of daily life is ride in a car. Motor vehicle crashes remain the leading cause of death for children 4 years and older." 

While car seat safety laws vary by jurisdiction, child safety seat recommendations are nationally recognized. As of August 2018, it is now recommended everywhere that rear-facing child safety seats be used for infants and toddlers from ages 2 -4 years old. As the CDC site says, "For the best possible protection, infants and toddlers should be buckled in a rear-facing car seat, in the back seat, until they reach the maximum weight and/or height limits of their car seat."

Here are the child safety seat laws for your jurisdiction:

Alabama Hawaii Massachusetts New Mexico South Dakota 
Alaska Idaho Michigan New York Tennessee
Arizona Illinois Minnesota North Carolina Texas
Arkansas Indiana Mississippi North Dakota Utah
California Iowa  Missouri Ohio Vermont
Colorado Kansas Montana Oklahoma Virginia
Connecticut Kentucky Nebraska Oregon Washington
Delaware Louisiana Nevada Pennsylvania Washington DC
Florida Maine New Hampshire Rhode Island West Virginia
Georgia Maryland New Jersey South Carolina

Wisconsin | Wyoming

      

And here are the CDC national reccomdations for car seats, booster seats and child restraint: